88 finalists announced for 66th Blake Prize

A record 1200 entries for the 66th Blake Prize have been shortlisted to 88 with the Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre announcing the finalists for the biennial event on Thursday.

The entries, which come from across Australia, will be shown at The Blake Prize exhibition on February 13 where the winner will be announced.

CPAC director Craig Donarski said there was a 56 per cent increase of entries from the 2018 submissions.

"We're thrilled about the record number of entries we've received this year from such talented artists. An overwhelming majority of finalists came from Australia, proving what an incredible pool of talent we have in this country. Better still, this year's finalists include artists from every Australian state and territory," Mr Donarski said.

"The winner of this prestigious prize will receive $35,000, the winner of the Blake Emerging Artist Prize will also take home a cool $6000, the winner of the Blake Poetry Prize will be awarded $5000 and feature in the exhibition alongside the Art Prize Exhibition of finalists and the winner of the Blake Established Artist Residency will receive a one-month residency and a solo exhibition here at Casula Powerhouse in Liverpool."

Green Valley's Tom Yousif is one of the finalists creating a UV ink-on-cement quasi-relief depicting Ugallu, a lion-headed bird from ancient Mesopotamian culture.

Indigenous Australian artists share ranging perspectives on religion, culture, and spirituality including Blak Douglas who explores their frustration with embracing the religion of colonialism in Three Strikes and You're Out.

Other works include Claire Healy and Sean Cordeiro's video The Pilgrims which focuses on insta-tourists and our decade of self-worship, Zanny Begg's video, Stories of Kannagi which features members of the western Sydney Tamil community and explores the impacts of civil war and Kent Morris' entry, Barkindji Blue Sky - Ancestral Connections #9, which is a photograph of kiinki (Corellas) circling a large telecommunication tower in the centre of Melbourne.

The finalists:

  • Eddie Abd (Hazelbrook, NSW)
  • Margaret Ambridge (Maylands, SA)
  • Jane-Louise Anderson (Darwin, NT)
  • Cigdem Aydemir (Haberfield, NSW)
  • Jordan Azcune (Brisbane, QLD)
  • Tamara Baillie (Adelaide, SA)
  • Zanny Begg (Bulli, NSW)
  • Mika Benesh (St Ives Chase, NSW)
  • Liam Benson (Baulkham Hills, NSW)
  • Clayton Blake and Courtenay McCue (Westend, QLD)
  • Anastasia Booth (Petrie Terrace, QLD)
  • Kirsty Burgu (Derby, WA)
  • Annette Chippindale (Concord, NSW)
  • Glen Clarke (Grovedale, VIC)
  • Paul Cooper (North Turramurra, NSW)
  • Claire Healy and Sean Cordeiro (Blackheath, NSW)
  • Stephen Cornwell (North Haven, SA)
  • Sam Cranstoun (Brisbane, QLD)
  • Graham Crawford (Waterloo, NSW)
  • Jedda Daisy Culley (Alexandria, NSW)
  • Darron Davies (Campbells Creek, VIC)
  • Jessie DiBlasi and Robert Gale (Brunswick, VIC)
  • Fan Dongwang (Ashfield, NSW)
  • Blak Douglas (Redfern, NSW)
  • Rob Douma (Aitkenvale, QLD)
  • Alice Duncan (Northcote, VIC)
  • Kath Egan (Murwillumbah, NSW)
  • Leon Fernandes (Newtown, NSW)
  • Celia Fernandez (Mosman, NSW)
  • Liss Finney (Merewether, NSW)
  • Caren Florance (Dickson, ACT)
  • Mark Forbes (Black Rock, VIC)
  • Samuel Frank (Waterloo, NSW)
  • Phillip George (Bondi, NSW)
  • Deanne Gilson (Ballarat, VIC)
  • Joaquin Gonzales (Newport, QLD)
  • Donna Gough (Redondo Beach, CA, USA)
  • Jody Graham (Newtown, NSW)
  • Anthony Guerrera (Maroubra, NSW)
  • Kim Guthrie (Cooroy, QLD)
  • Julia Gutman (Bondi, NSW)
  • Patrick Hall (Kingston Beach, TAS)
  • Liz Ham (St Peters, NSW)
  • Le Harrop (Nightcliff, NT)
  • Cameron Hayes (St. Kilda, VIC)
  • Andrew Hazewinkel (St. Kilda West, VIC)
  • Michael Henderson (Huntingfield, TAS)
  • Mehwish Iqbal (Oatlands, NSW)
  • Locust Jones (Katoomba, NSW)
  • Lorraine Kypiotis (Sydney, NSW)
  • Katheryn Leopoldseder (Bulleen, VIC)
  • Glenn Loughrey (Glenn Iris, VIC)
  • Larizza Macatiag (Burnside, VIC)
  • Robyn MacRae (Tumut, NSW)
  • Belinda Mason (Church Point, NSW)
  • Trevor McDonald (Springwood, NSW)
  • Simon McGrath (Loftus, NSW)
  • Justine McLaren (Red Hill, ACT)
  • Louise Meuwissen and Ebony Russell (Melbourne, VIC)
  • Ray Monde (Bombay, NSW)
  • Trinity Morris (Newport, NSW)
  • Kent Morris (Elwood, VIC)
  • Jack Nawilil (Maningrida, NT)
  • R Neal (Ballarat Central, VIC)
  • Nino, Irene Ridgeway (Churchill, VIC)
  • Adam Norton (Surry Hills, NSW)
  • NOT (Alexandria, NSW)
  • Sean O'Keefee (Blackheath, NSW)
  • Nicole O'Loughlin (Molesworth, TAS)
  • Raj Panda (Newtown, NSW)
  • Sid Pattni (West Perth, WA)
  • Martin Paull (Aranda, ACT)
  • Katy B Plummer (Dee Why, NSW)
  • Matt Rainshadow (Auburn, NSW)
  • Anna Madeleine Raupach (Braddon, ACT)
  • Darryl Rogers (Invermay, TAS)
  • Lucy Roleff (Thornbury, VIC)
  • Monica Rudhar (Dulwich Hill, NSW)
  • Tama Sharman (Preston, VIC)
  • Leyla Stevens (Petersham, NSW)
  • Justin Swed (Mandurah, WA)
  • Jayanto Tan (Ashfield, NSW)
  • Antoine Veling (North Rocks, NSW)
  • Nina Waring (Redfern, NSW)
  • Rose Wilson (Fern Hill, VIC)
  • Regina Pilawuk Wilson (Peppimenarti, NT)
  • Tricia Woodcock (Blackburn, VIC)
  • Tom Yousif (Green Valley, NSW)